myPPP's History

The People's Progressive Party (Parti Progresif Penduduk Malaysia) is a political party in Malaysia.

The party is one of the constituent members of the ruling National Front (Barisan Nasional) and is a multiracial party.


PPP was formed in 1953 by the Seenivasagam brothers mainly as an opposition party to the Alliance; the party's first president was D.R. Seenivasagam. It was hugely popular party upon inception, particularly due to the popularity of the brothers who spoke up for justice, equality and the common man.

For a short period during independence in 1957, PPP joined the ruling Alliance (which would later become the Barisan Nasional), but withdrew later to become an opposition party again. In 1969, as a strong opposition party, PPP was nearly able to form the Perak State Government, but fell short of just 2 seats in the state assembly. The success of PPP was mainly due to the Chinese vote, though many of the top leaders then were Indians.

In 1973, PPP became one of the founding members of the National Front. It was brought into the National Front to keep the Indian and Chinese vote, especially after the 1969 racial riots.

However, joining the coalition would prove its undoing as it lost nearly all its seats when it contested under the Barisan Nasional ticket in the 1974 General Elections. This was mainly due to Chinese anti-establishment feeling that was prevailing at that time.

Today, under the leadership of M. Kayveas, the PPP has a membership of 577,000 with a network of over 3000 branches throughout the country. All registered members carry a membership card signed by the President; the President's card is signed by the Secretary General. As of 2006, 48% of the PPP's membership is Indian, 32% are Chinese, 13% are Malay, and the rest are of other ethnicities.

In November 2006, M. Kayveas, proposed a merger between the PPP and another Barisan Nasional party, the Parti Gerakan Rakyat Malaysia (Gerakan). Koh Tsu Koon, Gerakan's Deputy President, welcomed the suggestion.


1953: PPP is formed under the name 'Perak Progressive Party' to participate in the political future of the impending independence of Malaya.

1954: PPP becomes a component of the Alliance. Wins a seat in the Ipoh Town Council.

1955: Withdrew from the Alliance before the 1955 Federal Legislative Council Elections due to non-allocation of seats for PPP.

1956:To reflect a national image, the party's name was changed to People's Progressive Party.

1957: Party president, D.R. Seenivasagam won the by-election for the Ipoh Parliamentary seat and becomes PPP's first Member of Parliament.

1959:PPP wins 4 parliamentary and 8 state assembly seats in the 1959 General Elections.

1960: PPP win 1 more Parliamentary seat making it 5 MPs in parliament. PPP consolidated its position in Ipoh and turned Ipoh Municipality into an exemplary model of local administration.

1964:PPP won 4 parliamentary and 6 state seats in the 1964 General Elections.

1969: Party President and prime mover, D R Seenivasagam passes away and the leadership of the party is taken over by co-founder S P Seenivasagam. Despite the change of leadership, PPP goes on to win 4 parliamentary seats and 12 state assembly seats in the 1969 General Election. The opportunity to form the Perak State Government slips away due to a shortage of 2 seats.

1972: PPP charts a new milestone by making a decision to join the Barisan Nasional. The decision was based on the belief that for the country to achieve political, social and economic stability, parochial and narrow party interests must be given up for a national multi racial outlook.

1974: PPP contested under Barisan Nasional symbol and wins 1 parliamentary and 2 state seats in the 1974 General Elections.

1975: Party President Dato' Seri S P Seenivasagam passes away and Mr Khong Kok Yet becomes President.

1978: Mr. S I Rajah is elected President.

1982: Dato' Paramjit Singh is elected President.

1985: Mr Tee Ah Chuan takes over the party Presidency after Dato' Paramjit Singh steps down.

1986: Dato' Paramjit Singh becomes President again following the resignation of Mr Tee Ah Chuan.

1988: Dato' Mak Hon Kam becomes President after a private deal with Dato' Paramjit Singh. Following a court injunction against Dato' Mak Hon Kam, Mr. S I Rajah becomes Acting President. The court later decides that the Registrar of Societies determine the legitimate leader.

1993: Mr M Kayveas becomes President following Mr S I Rajah's retirement from active politics.

1994: The Registrar of Societies decides and recognises Mr. M Kayveas as the lawful President.


March 19: An Extraordinary Delegates Conference was held and the following were unanimously adopted:

The party Logo, which is a six pointed red star, be changed to a six pointed blue star withe the letters PPP in the center of the star.

The National President is the only spokesman for the party.

Branch membership to be reduced to 27 from the current number of 50.

To update the Registry of members and Membership Cards be issued and ensure active membership participation.

March 26: Mr M. Kayveas attended the First Barisan Nasional Convention and signed the Barisan Nasional Charter as the National President of PPP.

April 12: Prime Minister and Barisan Nasional Chairman launch the new logo of PPP.

April 25: PPP actively participates in the General Elections extending their fullest support to all Barisan Nasional candidates.

June 5: The Registrar of Societies is sued for having made a decision in favour of Mr. M Kayveas.

October 5: The court accepted Mr. M Kayveas and his CEC to intervene in the suit.

October 21: The Registrar of Societies confirms that until further notice of its decision, Mr. M Kayveas and his CEC shall remain the only legal office bearers of the party.

1999: September 18: An attempt was made by a group of expelled members to challenge the leadership of PPP via a ruling from the Seremban High Court. It was subsequently nullified on October 14, 1999 by the Court of Appeal which decided in favour of Datuk M Kayeas' leadership of the PPP.

2000: September 18: An attempt was made by a group of expelled members to challenge the leadership of PPP via a ruling from the Seremban High Court. It was subsequently nullified on October 14, 1999 by the Court of Appeal which decided in favour of Datuk M Kayeas' leadership of the PPP.


January 30: Appointment of the party President as a Deputy Minister in the Ministry of Housing and Local Government.

May 27: A 25 acre land was donated to PPP by Hua Yang Development Sdn Bhd for the purpose of setting up and Institution of Higher Learning. The signing ceremony was held in the Ipoh City and Country Club.

2005: September 24: Kayveas retained his position unopposed after only one nomination was submitted for the president's post.

May 24: Kayveas has been sacked.

May 25 : Maglin D'Cruz appointed as acting President

  • D.R. Seenivasagam
  • M. Kayveas
  • Maglin D'Cruz
Get Involved
Recent Post
Kayveas dipecat oleh Lembaga Displin MyPPP

Kayveas di pecat

Read More ...
  • Posted on: Tue, 08 May, 2018
  • /
    Datuk Seri Maglin D'Cruz dilantik sebagai Pemangku Presiden myPPP

    Datuk Seri

    Read More ...
  • Posted on: Tue, 08 May, 2018
  • myPPP Song